Reviews

Fine by AmyLea Murphy

Blurb

Six years ago, Anna Williams-straight-A student, cheerleader, and all-around golden child-vanished.

Ever since, her younger sister, Katie, has drifted through life, wracked with guilt, grief, and anger over Anna’s unsolved disappearance. But when her own future reaches a breaking point, Katie takes the investigation into her own hands. She searches for answers in her sister’s missing person’s file and discovers that some questions aren’t so easily answered.

Through police memos, interrogations, and excerpts from Anna’s diary, Katie breaks down the carefully crafted façade Anna left behind and uncovers the dark truths of her life in the months before she vanished.

For readers of Courney Summers and Sarah Dessen, Fine is an unsettling, surprising, and ultimately hopeful mystery that will break your heart and put it back together again.

Review

Rating – 3.5 / 5

I received a free Arc of this book from NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.

Fine by Amylea Murphy is the story of a sudden unexplained disappearance of 17-year-old Anna. She was a straight-A student, a cheerleader, and an all-rounder who had no reason to run away or disappear. The story is set from the perspective of Katie, her sister, who was 12-years-old when Anna went missing. She is now 17-years-old and attempts to find out more about her sister and her disappearance. She starts probing into her police report file and discovers more and more about her family’s past and finds out about the real Anna.


Information about her through her police reports is written in the form of diary entries, transcription records of phone calls with family and friends which was very interesting to read. The book discussed various issues related to teenagers and their mental health during these growing years.

“Our eyes are being opened to war, racism, and poverty. We’re learning about complicated issues of climate change, technology, and all kinds of other things that are wholly out of our control. We’re wondering how the adults in charge haven’t found a way to solve any of it. And while we contemplate all this, we’re trying to have some fun and make some memories.”


The story was a bit incomplete and in some places. Anna’s relationship with her dad has been very good but suddenly she started to hate him and he started ignoring him. However, there is no context as t how she has a sudden change of feelings. The plot was a bit slow-paced but I guess that is how the story was set.


Otherwise, the theme of the story is very important and relevant in today’s society and that message has been very well delivered. If some plot holes were fixed, this would have been a phenomenal read.

Purchase Links : Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author Links : Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.